276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Frankie Best Hates Quests

£3.995£7.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Things take a turn for the worse when Grandad gets kidnapped by gnoblins (no, that is not spelt incorrectly) forcing Frankie to embark on a rescue mission across a magical realm filled with strange creatures, dangerous enemies and – worst of all – absolutely no WiFi.

Joel – Frankie’s annoying nerd brother who spends all his time playing computer games like Elf-Quest and just generally being really super annoying. Things take a turn for the worse when Grandad gets kidnapped by gnoblins (no, that is not spelt incorrectly) forcing Frankie to embark on a rescue mission across a magical realm filled with strange creatures, dangerous enemies and - worst of all - absolutely no WiFi. She provides a running commentary in the form of snide comments and scornful remarks that remind readers just how silly all this fantasy stuff is. She’s stuck at Grandad’s with her annoyingly nerdy brother Joel for a whole week while her parents swan off to the Arctic. A fun and funny adventure- with a narrator that frequently breaks the fourth wall - that deconstructs and gently mocks a lot of the classic quest fantasy tropes.The 103 third parties who use cookies on this service do so for their purposes of displaying and measuring personalized ads, generating audience insights, and developing and improving products.

You can change your choices at any time by visiting Cookie preferences, as described in the Cookie notice.Think Lord of the rings meets bedknobs and broomsticks with a bit of harry potter, echoes of Labyrinth, adventure, creatures and a quest despite Frankie raging it is most assuredly NOT A QUEST. Very soon, she has unwittingly joined the Fellowship of the Bacon Roll and is surrounded by the brave warriors, noble sidekicks, mysterious double-crossers and conflicted villains that one would expect to see in any generic fantasy story. Parallelia is a land full of imaginative details and engaging, original characters (notwithstanding the disappointingly stereotypical Princess Prince). As a journalist he has covered national politics for Vanity Fair, where he is a contributing editor, and 9/11, "Saturday Night Live," Derek Jeter, Hillary Rodham Clinton, and New York politics, among many subjects, for New York Magazine. The chapters are short, there are diary entries, view points change, overall it is a light hearted adventure read and if you need to drop out of our world for a little while this is a fab one to enter.

That's where he met Greg James, and in between messing about on the airwaves the pair created the bestselling Kid Normal series. Our mission is to inspire children to feel they can be and do anything, and to create readers for life. Chris Smith's humorous fantasy novel (illustrated by Kenneth Anderson) for readers aged 9+ has strong themes of friendship and being true to yourself.Before they know it, Frankie and Joel find themselves embarking on a quest (it’s not a quest, Frankie hates quests) to rescue their grandad.

From the incredible imagination of Chris Smith - bestselling author and now a major new solo talent - comes an extraordinary accidental adventure for fans of Cressida Cowell and Pixar's Onward. Children who like fairytales and also those that don’t (like Frankie) will love this magical adventure - perhaps she can help convince a few more minds that quests are awesome!Smith even cites the rules of the genre explicitly to readers, reminding them, for example, that every villain has a whole in their plan. Chris Smith has wanted to be an author ever since he was eight and won a competition by writing a story about a baby dinosaur who loved biscuits. Chris Smith is the author of the New York Times bestseller "The Daily Show (the Book)" and "Till The End" (with C. Frankie is twelve and all teen angst, glued to her phone, her brother is a geek and this cannot be happening.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment